Updated April 13th, 2024


Voice of Democracy

Established in 1947, our Voice of Democracy audio-essay program provides high school students with the unique opportunity to express themselves in regards to a democratic and patriotic-themed recorded essay.  Each year, nearly 25,000 ninth through 12th grade students from across the country enter to win their share of more than $1.3 million in educational scholarships and incentives awarded through the program. 

The national first place winner receives a $35,000 scholarship paid directly to the recipients American university, college or vocational/technical school. A complete list of other national scholarships range from $1,000-$21,000, and the first place winner from each VFW Department (state) wins at least a scholarship of $1,000. Before submitting your essay, read the rules and eligibility requirements. Submit your entry to your sponsoring VFW Post which is VFW Post 4031, 1550 Main Avenue, Durango, CO., 81301. Applications must be turned in by midnight, Oct. 31, 2023.


Download and complete the 2024-2025 Voice of Democracy entry from here.

The Subject for this year's Voice of Democracy Competition is:

"Is America Today Our Forefathers’ Vision?” 

The Second way to enter the competition for these scholarships is by using the Scholars App. Click on the following link to go to the Scholars App website. Scholars App. The thumbnail below is the form for the VFW Post 4031 Scholars App page. Click on the thumbnail to go to the Full size page. Use your camera to look at the QR for the scholarship and go to the appropriate page which tells the student how to enter.
If you would like to donate to VFW Post 4031's Youth Scholarship Programs click on the Donate to the Scholarship Program button below.